Ocean Pollution

For my second Genius Hour, I had trouble deciding on what to do. At first I was thinking of some kind of Grant project on beach cleaning, but then I said that it would be better for the third Genius Hour. I decided to do something related to that for my second one. It was about ocean pollution, its causes and effects, and how it can be helped. I had a speech and a presentation on the subject to inform my peers about one of the other major problems in the world and how and what they can do to help the bigger picture.

Like I said before I chose this topic because it was related to what I really wanted to do (beach cleaning). Also, I have always been fascinated about the ocean and it’s wonderful creatures. It always killed me that humans treated it with such neglect, and some did not even see its greater value. I wanted to share my opinion and tell people what little things they can do to help. Even though it was a small school presentation, the smallest action can make a difference.

Image result for ocean Link      Link

While I was doing the research for my presentation, I learned a lot of things. However, in my opinion the most important parts of my presentation were the “5 Things People Can Do To Help”. I think that this was the most important part, because it is what the main pint of my presentation is, and it is the thing that will help this issue. Apart from this I also learned many different causes and effects. It was very difficult to decide which ones were the most important, but I still ended up picking only a few.

Image result for ocean Link

For me, my presentation really helped me see clearer involving one of the major issues of the world. I would not say that it helped me grow as a person, it just made me more aware. Being more aware will help me take more action. It will make me try to be more careful with what I do everyday that might effect the environment. This can also make me into a more responsible person which can help me in many other things.

My Genius Hour presentation did not effect the world as an action, but it still made a difference. It was a ways to get a small community involved and informed, so that they could maybe start and be more environment friendly. Now because of this for example, it one day they are at the beach and they see littering, they will not just be a bystander, but they will actually do something. If it is not something like that then they will actually start looking after themselves and not try to hurt the environment as much.

For my third project, like I stated at the beginning, will be like a grant project. I was thinking of making it like a little business where we would find people without jobs, and give them the job of beach cleaning. They would get paid for their assist. This will not only help the people without jobs, but it will also be a different way to help the environment.

Please come check out my presentation and speech, to see what the causes and effects where, and also to find out what YOU can do to help.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *